Home > Indonesia > 1st February – YES!! Good triumphed over Evil. Galungan in Ubud, Bali.

1st February – YES!! Good triumphed over Evil. Galungan in Ubud, Bali.

I was awake at 6am and decided to start reading the second of the Millenium trilogy (The girl who played with fire by Stieg Larsson) whilst Julie was away with the fairies. Hope it’s as good as the first book.

20120202-183114.jpg

We got up, had breakfast and went to watch the locals attend their temples. Women wore sarongs, sashes and see-through lace tops over their corstets. The description sounds like a night out in Marbella or Newcastle or even in the backstreets of Soho but I must say this is tasteful and for religious purposes. Men wore sarongs, sashes and something on their heads. This was the requirement if you wanted to go to the temple and participate in one of their ceremonies.

Throughout the streets motorcycle after motorcycle old and young men, drove their wives and mothers who sat at the back holding their offerings to the temples.

20120202-183119.jpg

Julie and I bought ourselves the attire and headed to the temple. Julie did participate in the ceremony and was very conscious she didn’t want to offend. The priest poured water from some sort of a metalic tea pot into the worshippers hands. The first three times, they had to drink it, the fourth time they put it on their face or hair and then took the rice and put it on their forehead. As Julie was sweating from the heat it kept coming off.

We had lunch at Melting Wok on Gootama street, it’s a restaurant owned by a French woman and her French/Laon husband. We stumbled upon it by mistake and there was no mistake with the choice we made. The food was delicious, I would definitely recommend this place. Definitely going back to eat there again. They also have free wifi.

20120202-183123.jpg

Restaurants, homestays and hotels realise the importance of travellers communicating with their loved ones back at home so most of them promote heavily the fact they have Wifi. Most tourists have smart phones and like most people, we make our decision to stay in a place based on if they have wifi.

Julie bought herself two praying bronze Buddha statues and also wooden praying Java worshippers. Real nice, it’s for our house when we get back.

20120202-183127.jpg

Spent the afternoon chilling, catching up on what’s going on in the world, footy scores and ideas for what we can do whilst in Bali.

In the evening we walked around in full circle for 20 minutes trying to find somewhere to eat and ended up back on our street “Jalan Karna” and ate at Ayuk Warung. It’s very cheap and I thought was good food. We like cheap.

Played connect four on Julies iPad to keep us entertained and them slept.

En français:

Au jours hui c’est le premier jour de Galungan et maintenant que tous les penjors sont installés, les balinais peuvent aller au temple pour donner leurs offrandes et prier.
On a décidé de les suivre mais seulement après le petit déjeuner.

20120202-183132.jpg

On marche jusqu’au temple Pura Dalem pas loin du centre de Ubud. Évidemment, on n’a pas le bon accoutrement même si nos jambes et épaules sont couvertes. Donc on repart à la chambre pour prendre nos sous et nous acheter un sarong et une ceinture pour nous deux et un top transparent en plus pour moi.

Une fois bien habillés, on peut rentrer dans le temple et voir les cérémonies. Il manque un bandeau pour la tête de Kwasi pour qu’il puisse assister à la cérémonie mais mon habit est complet donc je m’assois dans l’assistance et attend mon tour.

20120202-183137.jpg

Je regarde ce que font les gens pour être sûre de ne pas faire d’erreur et quand vient mon tour, le prêtre me jette de l’eau et je baisse ma tête. Ensuite, il me verse trois petites poignées d’eau que je bois, la quatrième je la passe dans mes cheveux et la dernière sur mon visage. Ensuite, je dois prendre du riz mouille et me le coller sur le front. Malheureusement avec le stress (de faire des bêtises) et la chaleur, je transpire et mon riz ne colle pas du tout.

Après les cérémonies on reste un peu pour faire des photos puis on retourne à l’hôtel pour aller changer de chambre. La nouvelle n’est pas prête alors on patiente en faisant un peu d’Internet.

20120202-183142.jpg

Quand la chambre est finalement prête on s’installe et on fait un peu de lessive à la main histoire de nettoyer nos affaires toutes mouillés depuis le Bromo!

Ensuite, on part en quête d’un resto ou warung ouvert car en ce jour de Galungan, tout est presque fermé. Je vous le disais c’est comme un 25 décembre, le décor et la chaleur différant. On se pose au Melting Wok, un petit resto sympa tenu par une français et son mari franco-laotien. Ils ont ouvert en octobre et ça a l’air de se passer plutôt bien. Kwasi commande un fried rice et moi des noodles cuite avec du poulet et du lait de coco. C’est un vrai régal, Kwasi est jaloux.

20120202-183146.jpg

Sur le chemin du retour, je trouve une boutique de reproduction d’antiquités (oui on ne peut pas se permettre les vraies antiquités) ouverte et comme c’est le premier jour de Galungan, ils font de supers prix. Je ressors avec quatre statues, Maman tu vas être jalouse quand tu recevras le paquet!

On retourne à la chambre et on finit Slumdog Millionaire.

Pour le diner, on s’installe dans un petit warung au bout de notre rue (Jalan Karna) et on déguste un nasi goreng and un ayam kare devant un James Bond.

Leave a Reply

