Home > Argentina > 18th April- Julie goes Paragliding in Mendoza Argentina

18th April- Julie goes Paragliding in Mendoza Argentina

Mendoza is famous for its winery but also one of the reasons why tourists not just foreigners but locals as well is for its activities such as White water rafting, trekking, paragliding etc.

We wanted to do rafting but the water levels are very low so it wouldn’t be that much fun. Julie wanted to do paragling but that’s not for me so she booked her trip through Hostel Suites and paid $360 ARS (£60). The person that will be doing the tandem dive with her came and picked us up in his truck, picked two more up people and off we went to the top of a hill/mountain (800m).

20120422-203934.jpg

The climb to the top was quite scary as the road was not paved, resembles video clips of what we have seen of the death road in Bolivia (we will be cycling on the death road in Bolivia in 10 days time). At one point we could see and feel stones and gravel shift underneath our car and it was hard to breathe.

It was a perfect day for paragliding as the sky was blue and not that windy but saying that when Julie was about to glide, the chute/wing kept pulling the two of them back which dragged Julie on the floor and gave her a bruise on the side of her legs.

20120422-204019.jpg

They eventually run off the top of the mountain and they were gliding. During the glide, Julie was was asked if she wanted to do tricks, which she obliged and I could hear her from where I stood. She was shouting wooooooh hoooooo, sounded like she was having fun.

20120422-204105.jpg

When she landed Julie said she was absolutely petrified, not even at lift off but during it was very scary for her. He seemed very happy and had the biggest smile on her face, I was very proud of her. Also one of the reasons why I had come with her was to see if I could do it and if so I will try tomorrow but she claims I couldn’t do it as it was scary. I don’t think I could have done it but really want to do it.

We went back to hostel afterwards, cooked some food with a bottle of Malbec which went down very very well. It was Julie’s day an she was very impressive.

20120422-204202.jpg

The English guy we were sharing room with came in at 10pm absolutely off his head and bumping into everything including out bunk bed. We could also hear him puke and think he also fell in the bathroom. After that little bit of theatre he showed us his vocal ranges in snoring. Why can’t we be lucky with dorm mates. It’s a dorm for 4 people and there were only three of us but the one person had to snore.

20120422-203915.jpg

Julie and I stayed in the communal room until midnight when Julie said she will go back into room and try and get some shut eye whilst I stayed behind.

En français:

On dort plutôt bien jusqu’à 8h quand celui qui partage notre chambre se met à ronfler.

20120422-203944.jpg

Après le petit déjeuner, on va voir la fille qui s’occupe d es activités pour voir ce qu’on peut faire. Elle nous propose, randonnée, cheval, parapente, parachute, rafting etc…
On ne sait pas trop quoi faire et comme il est plus de 9h, on doit prendre une décision rapidement pour réserver notre place.
Je décide sur un coup de tête de faire du parapente, une première! Et une folie!
Kwasi lui sera accompagnateur seulement car il a trop le vertige. Il verra aujourd’hui si ça lui semble faisable et si oui il le fera demain.

Pour le déjeuner, on passe chez notre pote Carrefour et à 15h, je suis prête et on attend que la compagnie de parapente viennent nous chercher.

20120422-204042.jpg

Un jeune vient nous chercher dans son pick-up et on va récupérer deux autres personnes.
Vingt minutes plus tard on arrive à une sorte de base avec une piste d’atterrissage.
Quand je demande si c’est la qu’on atterrira ils nous répondent que ça dépendra de la météo.

Deux autres filles nous rejoignent et quand tout le monde est la ils nous disent que les premiers arrivés (nous) sont les premiers a voler.

On monte dans le même pick-up, cette fois chargés de trois parapente et de deux monsieurs en plus.
On doit monter tout en haut de Cerro Arco et pour y aller la route est très mauvaise, très petite, très en pente, très serrée bref j’ai déjà peur dans la voiture!

20120422-204130.jpg

Ensuite, on ne perd pas de temps, le jeune qui est venu nous chercher et celui qui a conduit sur la dangereuse route préparent le matériel. Des que c’est prêt, je suis appelée et harnachée puis le jeune, celui qui va quatre avec moi me donne quelques consignes: quand je dis marche, tu marches et quand je dis cours, tu cours. Ça n’a pas l’air très compliqué jusqu’à présent.

Ensuite, il me dit de ne pas m’asseoir quand je sens la voile nous tirer, ok. Sauf que quand il me dit de marcher moi je vais droit devant et lui il recule ce qui fait que je tombe comme un sac de patates! Ça commence bien…

20120422-204224.jpg

Trente secondes, on est dans les airs. Le décollage n’est pas impressionnant c’est quand on réalise qu’on vole que ça fait bizarre.
J’ai tremble comme une feuille pendant tout le vol. J’ai quand même réussi à prendre quelques photos.

Après 10 minutes de vol au dessus de la colline, le pilote me demande si je veux faire des pirouettes. Au fond de moi j’en avais pas du tout envie mais je me suis dit tant qu’à être la autant en profiter. Du coup, je lui dit oui et voilà qu’on commence une série de wingovers, en gros on faisait des signes “infini” dans le ciel. Ça donne les mêmes sensations que les montagnes russes, les rails en moins!

20120422-204614.jpg

Après ça, on passe de l’autre côté de la colline et on commence l’approche pour l’atterrissage. On va atterrir au même endroit duquel on a décollé.
L’atterrissage se passe sans heurt.

Après le vol, on attend que les autres partent puis on redescend avant d’être reconduits à notre auberge à Mendoza.

On retourne au supermarché pour le dîner et on organise notre journée de demain: visite des vignobles à vélo avec Loes et Ruben (rencontres à Puerto Madryn).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

